HomeEventsCOREN Registrar to deliver Inauguration lecture at Investiture of NSE Ilorin...

    COREN Registrar to deliver Inauguration lecture at Investiture of NSE Ilorin New Chairman, Engr Olashehu


    Share post:

    - Advertisement -

    The Registrar, Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigerian, COREN, Engr Prof Ademola Adisa Bello has been scheduled to deliver a inauguration Lecture at the inauguration ceremony of Engr Taiwo Issa Olashehu as the 22nd Chairman of Ilorin Branch of the Nigerian Society of Engineers.

    The event which will hold on 16th February 2023 at the Branch Engineering Centre, BEC, No1, Engineering Close, off Tunde Idiagbon Road along University of Ilorin, permanent Site Tanke, Ilorin, Kwara state, will start at at 11 am.

    Many distinguished personalities are expected to grace the event which will be chaired by the President of the Nigerian Society of Engineers, Engr Tasiu Sa’ad Gidari Wudil. Among them are Mallam Sheriff Shagaya, Chairman, Salman Shagaya Foundation, (as Distinguished Guest of Honour); Engr Sulaiman Rotimi Iliasu, Commissioner for Works and Transport, Kwara State,Engr Sulaiman Bolakale Kawu, Dan Iyan of Ilorin Emirate and a Director at Rural Electrification Agency (REA), Dr Muhammed D. Ibrahin, Provost Kwara State College of Education, {Technical), Lafiagi, and Hon Abdulganiyu Toyyib Omotosho, Commissioner 1, Kwara State Local Government Service Commission, as (Special Guests of Honour); while Dr Abubakar Usman Akanbi Jos, the Balogun Alanamu of Ilorin will grace the occasion as the Royal father of the Day,

    Other members of the Executive committee of the Branch will also be sworn in at the ceremony.

    - Advertisement -

    Professor Bello, a respected professor of mechanical Engineering at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi will be speaking on the Theme, ” The professional Engineer’s Etiquette to the World of Work.

    Ademola Adisa Bello, a Former National Chairman of Nigerian Institution of Mechanical Engineers, NIMechE is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering. Before his appointment as COREN Registrar last year, Prof Bello worked as lecturer at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU), Bauchi where he teaches subjects in the area of mechanics and energy studies.

    He has served in many universities and many professional/academic Journals. He served the ATBU as Director of Centre for Energy Research, Coordinator of postgraduate Diploma in Mechanical Engineering Technology, Head of Mechanical/Production Engineering Department and Director, Centre for Industrial Studies. He has over seventy-five peer reviewed Journal and conference papers, eight Technical Reports. He has been sponsoring two prizes in the Department of Mechanical Engineering since the 2012/2013 session at every convocation ceremony. He served on the Governing Council of ATBU for four years. He also served on the Council of the NSE for two years. He served on the Council of COREN for three years. He also served on the Africa, Asia and the Pacific (AAP) Accord Council.

    Nicknamed the Harmony Branch, Ilorin Branch of NSE was approved as a Branch of Nigerian Society of Engineers in year 1968. Since then, it has been led by Twenty-One (22) Chairmen, namely:Late. Engr. Hamzat Olaoti Ijaiya, FNSE, Late  Engr. Micheal Oyinloye Olaniyan, FNSE, Engr. (Hon.) Sylvester Duro Agboola, FNSE, Late Engr. Samuel Jide Abolarin, MNSE, Late Engr. Ademola Adewole Adesiyun, FNSE, Engr. Yusuf Olarenwaju Sagaya, FNSE, Engr. (Hon.) Rauf Kola Shitu, FNSE, Engr. Anthony W. Omatsone, FNSE, Engr. Prof. Yunusa Alaro Jimoh, FNSE, Engr. Bahiru Atunde Lawal, FNSE, Late. Engr. R.O. Raji, MNSE, Engr. Oshanisi O. Olatunji, FNSE, Engr. (Dr.) Ahmed Mustapha, FNSE, Engr. Prof. Abdul Ganiyu Funsho Alabi, FNSE, Engr. Kamil Adekola Olalekan, FNSE, Engr. Wopa Kamila Maliki, FNSE, mni, Engr. Prof. Mohammed Gana Yisa, FNSE, Engr. Thomas Sunday Abolarin, FNSE, Engr. Joseph Sunday Adebayo, FNSE, Engr. Moshood Abdulkadir Akanbi, FNSE, Engr. Dr. Temitope Elizabeth Odetoye, FNSE, (First female Chairman), and now, Engr Taiwo Olashehu, FNSE.

    The new chairman, Engr Taiwo Olashehu, FNSE, is the currently the  Director  of Works, kwara State College of Education (Technical), Lafiagi. He is a registered Engineer at the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN). He is Fellows of Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE); fellow, Nigerian Association of Technologists in Engineering (NATE;, fellow, Nigerian Institution of Mechanical Engineers (NIMechE); Fellow, Nigerian Society of Engineering Technicians (NISET); member, Nigerian Institute of Engineering Management (NIEM), and National Society of Black Engineering (NSBE), among others .

    - Advertisement -

    He takes over from Engr. Dr. Temitope E. Odetoye, an Associate Professor at the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Ilorin. Odetoye is the first female Chairman to be elected by the Branch.



    - Advertisement -


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    In case you missed it..


    WFEO Vice President, Mustapha Balarabe Shehu, 9 others Bag Fellowship of Nigerian Academy of Engineering

    The Executive Vice President of World federation of Engineering, Engr Mustafa Balarabe Shehu has joined the rank of...

    Iwuanyanwu Laments Growing Unemployment Among Young Engineers

    Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, a frontline politician and business icon, has bemoaned the increasing rate of joblessness among the...

    Nigeria’s slow economic development is often attributed to its infrastructural deficit

    By Collins Olayinka, While there is no consensus over where exactly to place the blame, the Nigerian Society of...

    When the President Visit Bauchi….A Report on Interactive Session

    NSE Presidential and Interactive Visit to NSE Bauchi Branch held at the PTDF Conference Hall, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa...