Ikeja Engineers Decided: Femi Adedotun emerges new Chairman, Nimot Muili is Vice Chair.

By Isqil Najim

Engr Femi John Adedotun has been elected as the new chairman of the Nigerian Society of Engineers, Ikeja Branch at the 2022 Annual General Meeting of the Branch. He will succeed Engr Olutosin Ogunmola who has completed his full tenure, Isqil Najim reports.

A Mechanical Engineer, Femi is a senior lecturer at the Yaba College of Technology, Yaba, Lagos. He is a graduate of Mechanical Engineering from the University of Ilorin and a Masters degree holder from University of Lagos. He is a member of the Nigerian Society of Engineers, NSE and registered with the Council for Regulation of Engineers in Nigeria (COREN). Prior to joining YabaTech, Femi has acquired Engineering and management experiences at the Nigerian Railways Corporation, Lodoni Company Nigeria Limited, Monyfem Unique Ventures, Segade Engineering Services Ltd & Altitude Aim Ltd.

Adedotun has served the Ikeja Branch of NSE in numerous capacities and rose to the position of Vice chairman of the Branch before the recent election. He also served the Nigerian Institution of Mechanical Engineers both at Lagos Chapter and National Level. He was an Assistant General Secretary of the Association of professional Bodies of Nigeria, APBN, Lagos Chapter in 2018.

Also elected is Engr Nimotalai Adebukola Muili who emerged as the Vice-chair of the Branch. Fondly called Nimot by her peers, she is the first female Executive Board Member (EBM) of Arup Nigeria. She has accumulated over 15 years of experience in civil/structural engineering design and supervision. She has worked on many exciting multidisciplinary engineering including urban renewal, city planning and resilience, various private-public partnership contracting models, within and outside the shores of Nigeria.

The full list of the newly elected executive members:

  1. Chairman- Engr Femi Adedotun
  2. Vice Chairman- Engr. Nimot Muili
  3. General Secretary- Engr. Adegboyega Adeleye
  4. Asst. General Secretary- Engr. Olubowale Rotimi Rafiu
  5. Technical Secretary- Engr. Adetunji Aderemi Luqman
  6. Asst. Technical Secretary- Engr. Femi Ariyo
  7. Treasurer- Engr. John Oladunni
  8. Financial Secretary- Engr Oluwafunmi Olubajo
  9. Ex-Officio- Engr. Iskeel Sadik

Ikeja Engineers Decided:  Femi Adedotun emerges new Chairman, Nimot Muili is Vice Chair.

The event was well attended with the president of Nigerian Society of Engineers, Engr. Tasiu Sa’ad Gidari Wudil among the dignitaries. Others are the Deputy President, Engr. Mrs. Margaret Oguntala, former president of NSE, Engr Olorunfemi Ademola, and hosts of others.

Ikeja Branch of NSE has engineered internal culture that encourages active engineers to develop into effective leaders. It has produced various leaders who have distinguished themselves in every stratum of society in Academic, professional and public policy. The Branch prides itself as the “Branch to beat” due to its vibrancy and willingness to take up challenges. It was one of the first Branches to establish Young Engineers Forum long before the official establishment by the National Secretariat. It won the NSE Group Dynamic Competition on three occasions. The Branch had received the Presidential Award every year since 1997.

It has also produced a President of the Nigerian Society of Engineers, NSE, in person of Engr Ademola Isaac Olorunfemi, the current Deputy President of NSE (first Female to hold the position), Engr Margaret Aina Oguntala is also a product of the Branch’s leadership factory. Others are late Engr. Olu Awoyinfa, Engr Dr Tunde Olatunji, Engr Idiat Amosu (APWEN, COREN), (late) Engr Amos Omopeloye (NICE), Engr Saliu Lawal (Nigerian Institution of Civil Engineers), Engr Robbie Owivry James (Nigerian Institution of Civil Engineers) Engr Ayo Fanimokun (Nigerian Institution of Mechanical Engineers, NIMechE), Engr Kunle Adebajo (Nigerian Institution of Structural Engineers, NIStructE), Engr Bola Bido, (Nigerian Institution of Aeronautic Engineers, NIAE), Engr Funmilade Akingbagbohun (NIMechE) and many more.

The Branch, which was founded by late Engr Olu Awoyinfa has been led by:

  1. (Late) Engr. (Dr) Ralph Adeola Alabi, FNSE
  2. (Late) Engr. Chike Morah, FNSE,
  3. (Late) Engr. Oludaiye, FNSE,
  4. Engr. Felix Oguamanam,FNSE,
  5. Engr. Ayo Fanimokun, FNSE
  6. Engr. Kunle Adebajo, FNSE
  7. Engr. M. Abiodun Awe, FNSE
  8. Engr. T.M. Olatunji, FNSE
  9. Engr. Mrs. Margaret Oguntala, FNSE
  10. Engr. Bola Akinribido, FNSE
  11. (Late) Engr Adeolu Ogundare, FNSE
  12. Engr Akin Akintola, FNSE
  13. Engr Funimilade Akingnnagbohun, FNSE
  14. Engr Olutosin Ogunmola, MNSE


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here