Electrical Engineers Set to unveil Akan Michael as the 20th National Chairman,

By Isqil Najim

On February 19 2022, the Nigerian Institute of Electrical Electronic Engineers will be hosting dignitaries across the country to inaugurate Engr Akan Michael as its 20th National Chairman.

As part of the ceremony marking the event, a pre investiture programme is earmarked as prize giving Ceremony for the National Engineering Science and Technology Essay Competition, NESTEC, which will hold on the same day at 10am.

The investiture ceremony is scheduled as follows:

Date: Saturday, February 19, 2022
Venue : NAF Conference Centre  and Suites, Abuja
Time: 10am

Various Dignitaries expected at the event which will be chaired by the president of Nigerian Society of Engineers, Engr Tasiu Saad Gidari-Wudli, are Execuitive Vice chairman, NASENI,  Engr Prof. Mohammad Haruna, Engr. Nwakaego Monica Ojukwu, Engr Etide Inyang, Chairman of Ibom Power Limited, Engr Joshua Attah, coordinator Special Projects , NUC, Engr Sen. Emmanuel Ibok Essien, Visitor, proprietor Rithman University, and host of others. Prof Tolulope Akinbulire, of University of Lagos will deliver the inauguration lecture, while a former Persident of Association of Professional women Engineers of Nigerian, APWEN, Engr Dr Felicia Agubata will present the keynote Address.

Akan studied at Federal University of Technology, Minna and University of Lagos and obtained B. Eng. (Electrical/ Computer engineering) and Advance Diploma in Project Management respectively. He also holds a professional certificate in Media and Journalism. He is a registered engineer, a Certified  Procurement/Project Monitor and an entrepreneur. He is a member of several professional bodies and has across board experience in Process Industries and Oil and Gas sector.

Akan was, until now, the National Deputy Chairman of the Institute. He previously served as the chairman of Lagos Chapter. He will be taking over from Engr Kings Adeyemi who has successfully served his full tenure as the National Chairman.

The birth of the Nigerian Institute of Electrical Electronics Engineers, NIEE can be traced to the formation of Divisions of NSE. In 1984, Engr.(Dr.) Olusegun Ajayi, former President of NSE (1989-1990) led a movement for the formation of professional divisions among the various disciplines that constitute the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE). This movement also enjoyed the support of Engr A.O Faluyi, the then President of NSE.

Ajayi presented a paper to the Council of the NSE with a strong appeal in favour of the formation of Divisions within the NSE. After extensive deliberations, the Council granted approval for the formation of Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Divisions; this was based on the visibility and numerical strength of these disciplines. In 1985, the Nigerian Society of Engineers, Electrical Division was formed with Engr.(Dr.) Olusegun Ajayi as the pioneer chairman. The Electrical Division was the first Division within the NSE that was formed.

On 12th October, 2006, the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the then Electrical Division unanimously voted to change the name of the Division to “The Nigerian Institution of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (NIEEE)”. The name was approved by the Council of the NSE in January 2007, making the NIEEE again the first Institution to be recognized by the NSE.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here