It is Harmony as Ilorin Elects Dr. Temitope Odetoye as its First Female Chairman

History was made at the Nigerian Society of Engineers, Ilorin Branch, today, Thursday 27th August, 2020, as Engr. Dr. Mrs. Temitope Elizabeth Odetoye,w as elected the 21st Branch Chairman during the 2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM) & Election of the Branch. By this, she becomes the first female Engineer to so elected since the establishment of the Branch over four decades ago.

She will be taking over from Engr. Moshood Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke who just completed a successful two years tenure as the 20th Branch Chairman.

Engr. Dr. Temitope Elizabeth Odetoye (nee Obala) completed her primary education at the Baptist Primary School, Idikan, Ibadan in 1986 and attended Ilorin Grammar School, Ilorin (1986-1992). Her leadership skill was recognized early enough when she was made the head girl in her primary school days and the college head girl in her secondary school, course leader during her undergraduate and postgraduate days!

Engr. Dr. Mrs. Temitope Odetoye had her earliest engineering experience at NNPC Eleme Petrochemical Company Limited, Port Harcourt, Rivers State in 1997 as a student of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Ogbomoso, Nigeria (1992-1998) where she bagged her Bachelor of Technology degree in Chemical Engineering. She proceeded to the University of Ilorin, to bag her M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in 2003 (Industrial Chemistry) and 2008 (Chemistry) respectively. Her quest for knowledge and doggedness propelled her to bag another Ph.D. degree (Chemical Engineering) in 2016 from LAUTECH.

This erudite scholar has enjoyed international recognitions. She has been awarded the L’Oreal-UNESCO for Women in Science, Sub-Saharan Africa Fellowship, 2014 in South Africa, Visiting Scholarship to Aston University, Birmingham, United Kingdom under the auspices of European Bioenergy Research Institute, in 2012 and an alternate awardee of the Association of American University Women fellowship. She served as a proctor for the American Society for Engineering Management, 2015 and as a reviewer to various reputable academic journal outfits both locally and internationally.

She has also served as resource person, external examiner to local and international professional bodies and universities. She has about thirty publications in reputable journals and has made presentations at NSE conferences and other local and international fora.

It is Harmony as Ilorin Elects Dr. Temitope Odetoye as its First Female Chairman

Engr. Dr. Mrs. Temitope Odetoye is currently the Ag Head at the Department of Chemical Engineering University of Ilorin, Ilorin, Kwara State mentoring students in process design, bioenergy and product development. Professionally, Engr. Dr. Temitope Elizabeth Odetoye is a registered Engineer with the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN).

Before now, she previously served as the Vice Chairman of the Nigerian Society of Engineers Ilorin Branch, former General Secretary (2016-2018), Financial Secretary (2011), Asst. Treasurer (2009), EXCO member (2012-2013) and Care-Taker Secretary (2012). She had served as the Chairperson (2012-2013), Technical Secretary, Financial Secretary, Treasurer, Asst Secretary of the Association of Professional Women Engineers of Nigeria (APWEN), Ilorin Chapter. She is a Technical Committee member of NSChE Oyo-Osun-Kwara Chapter. She has also contributed in various committees of NSE Ilorin Branch.

She is also a member of the Nigerian Society of Chemical Engineers (NSChE), APWEN, Chemical Society of Nigeria (CSN), Institute of Chartered Chemists of Nigeria (ICCON), Nigerian Young Academy (NYA), Organization for Women in Science for Developing World (OWSD) among others.

Engr. Dr. Mrs. Temitope Odetoye, FNSE is no doubt an outstanding diligent engineering researcher and a role model within and outside Nigeria who has made her marks in her engineering profession. She is happily married to Arc. Adeola Sunday Odetoye (National Treasurer, Nigerian Institutes of Architects) and blessed with four God-fearing children and two grandchildren.

Other Elected Executive members are:

  1. Engr. T.I. Olashehu, MNSE – Vice Chairman
  2. Engr. T.O. Ibikunle, MNSE- General Secretary
  3. Engr. A.O. Temim, MNSE – Asst. General Secretary
  4. Engr. S.O. Ashola, MNSE – Treasurer
  5. Engr. M.A. Lawal, MNSE- Financial Secretary
  6. Engr. K.L. Ahmed, MNSE- Technical Secretary
  7. Engr. A.B. Garba, MNSE- Publicity Secretary
  8. Engr. A.I. Adewumi, FNSE – Ex-Officio II
  9. Engr. M.A. Akanbi, MNSE – IPC/ Ex-Officio I

From us at MyEngineers, Congratulations Harmony Branch!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here