WhatsApp Scammers Pose As WhatsApp Technical Team; Asks Users To Share Verification Codes

A report has revealed that new WhatsApp scam has been spotted where the threat actor pretends to be a WhatsApp technical team and asks users to share their WhatsApp verification code over chat. The threat actor sends an official-looking message to users on WhatsApp and has a WhatsApp logo for profile picture to dupe WhatsApp users.

The tweet around the scam was shared by WABetaInfo, a popular website that posts regular updates around WhatsApp. “This is #FAKE. WhatsApp doesn’t message you on WhatsApp, and if they do (for global announcements, but it’s soooo rare), a green verified indicator is visible.WhatsApp never asks your data or verification codes. WhatsApp should ban this account,” tweeted WABetaInfo.

A Twitter user named Dario Navarro had shared a screenshot of the message received by the scammer asking if the message received was legitimate or not. As per the screenshot, the message was sent in spanish language and asked the user to share his WhatsApp verification code.

As you might already be aware, a WhatsApp verification code is used to activate your WhatsApp account with your number on a device. So, the message mentioned in the tweet above is simply a scam, where the threat actor was trying to gain access to the user’s account.

It’s recommended that users stay aware of such fake messages on WhatsApp as an official person from WhatsApp would never ask users to reveal their personal details or share verification code.

WhatsApp has also mentioned on its FAQ page that, “to protect your account, WhatsApp will send you a push notification when someone tries to register a WhatsApp account with your phone number. To keep your account safe, don’t share your verification code with others”. You can also enable two-step verification to advance the security on your WhatsApp account.

If you think someone else has gained access to your account, you can recover it by simply signing into WhatsApp with your phone number and verify your phone number by entering the 6-digit code you receive via SMS. Once you enter the 6-digit SMS code, the person using your account will get automatically logged out.

source: Mashable

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here