Funmilola Ojelade is APWEN’S President- Elect


At the end of the APWEN 2019 Annual General Meeting held in Asaba, Delta State, Engr Funmilola Ojelade has emerged the president-elect of Association of Professional Women Engineers of Nigeria, APWEN with Engr. Dr. Elizabeth Eterigho elected as Vice president.

It was reported Engr Shettima Kori withdrew from the vice president race leaving Engr Elizabeth unopposed.

Engr Chinyere Nnenna Igwegbe, a National Executive Member of Nigerian Society of Engineers, emerged the General Secretary of the Association while the Assistant Secretary is Engr Nnodi Linda.

Others national positions at the AGM are: Technical Secretary (Engr. Imhade Okokpujie), Financial Secretary ( Engr. ‘Laolu Adedapo-Aisida), treasurer is (Sylvia Kelechi Echezona), publicity secretary (Engr Bosede Oyekunle), while the internal auditor is Engr Okoli Oluchi Maryjane.


Meanwhile two ex-officio positions remained vacant as no one vied for the posts. The positions will be filled at a by-election to be conducted at a later date that will be announced by the President.

Funmilola Ojelade  is APWEN'S President- Elect
The President, Engr Dr. Felicia Agubata and the president Elect Engr Funmi Ojelade

The handover from present executive committee will hold in 31st of December at the expiration of the current tenure; while the investiture will take place on the 18th of January 2020 in Lagos. The Investiture Committee will be headed by Engr. Rose Madaki. The adviser of the committee is Engr Ini Usoro.

The President, Dr. Felicia Agubata congratulated all the new officers. She appreciated them for their supports and encouraged everyone to contribute more and make APWEN greater as the association aim to further consolidate on its achievements.

Below is the full list of the elected National Executive members of the Association:

  1. President elect – Engr. Funmilola K. Ojelade
  2. Vice President – Engr. Dr. Elizabeth Eterigho
  3. General Secretary – Engr. Chinyere Nnenna Igwegbe
  4. Assistant General Secretary- Engr. Linda Nnodi
  5. Technical Secretary- Engr. Imhade Okokpujie
  6. Financial Secretary – Engr. ‘Laolu Adedapo-Aisida
  7. Publicity Secretary- Engr. Bosede Oyekunle
  8. Treasurer- Engr. Sylvia Kelechi Echezona
  9. Ex-officio – Engr. Evangeline Ekoh
  10. Internal Auditor – Engr. Oluchi Maryjane Okoli

The by-election will take place in December during NSE conference in Kano where the two remaining positions will be filled. 30th of October is the closing date for application from interested contestants.

Funmilola Ojelade  is APWEN'S President- Elect
NSE Deputy President Engr Babagana , Mohammed, and Engr Ebierin Otuaro, Wife of Delta Deputy Governor, flanked by APWEN President Engr Felicia Agubata and President elect Engr Funlola Ojelade,

Engr Funlola Ojelade is Manager Pre-Press (Currency Manufacturing) at the Nigerian Security Printing and Minting Plc., the sole manufacturer of banknotes in West Africa. In 18 years of working with the Mint, she has progressed through the Supply Chain, handling various responsibilities in R&D, Quality Control, Production and Procurement.

Funlola has been APWEN member since 2003, during which she has been a visible and effective leader in the Association at both executive and non-executive capacity. She was Chairman of the Abuja Chapter of APWEN (2011 – 2013). The Chapter experienced total rebranding under her leadership. Her invaluable works and impressive projection of the Association earned her the position of APWEN Brand Ambassador in October 2014.

She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering from the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife and earned a Master’s degree in the same field from the University of Lagos. Presently, she is a Master’s degree candidate (Business & Management) at the Harvard University. Funlola has taken several career enhancement courses including Supply Chain Management program at the Cranfield University in the United Kingdom. She is a Chattered Engineer registered with the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN).

Reports by Mariam Haruna

Funmilola Ojelade  is APWEN'S President- Elect
Newly Elected officers after the election
Funmilola Ojelade  is APWEN'S President- Elect
Engr Kori Shettima making a speech at the AGM
Funmilola Ojelade  is APWEN'S President- Elect
Vice President elect, Engr Eterigho presenting her manifesto

2019 APWEN Conference: Governor Okowa calls for more enrollments in science-based courses to address unemployment challenges



  1. Congratulations to the newly elected APWEN Exco more especially our one and only manager in Core press Engr Ojolade for your emergence as APWEN president, I wish you a successful tenue.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here