Port Harcourt Civil Engineers Elect Engr Onuoha Obeka as New Chairman

The Nigerian Institution of Civil Engineers, Port Harcourt Chapter has elected Engr Onuoha Obeka as the new Chairman of the Chapter. He is taking over from Engr. Stanley Idem who successfully completed his tenure after serving two years.

Engr. Onuoha Chukwu Obeka, is a consummate Civil Engineer and a born leader, who delights in executing challenging jobs with a touch of excellence. He holds a Bachelor of Engineering (B.Eng) degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Agriculture, Markurdi in Benue State. He also hold a Masters Degree in Project Management from George Washington University, Washington D.C, USA.

His professional career began when he served in a consulting firm (Landscope Consultants) during his National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) year. He cut his Engineering teeth early in his assignments and made remarkable impact. The skills he acquired was later to see him working for a number of national and multinational construction companies notable among which are Fougerolle (IV) Fougerolle Nig. Ltd and Spie Batignolles Nig. Ltd engaged in the construction of the Ajaokuta Steel Complex and Eleme Petrochemicals Company Ltd. respectively.

An accomplished Civil Engineer and Project Management Specialist, Engr. Obeka is presently an Assistant Director in the Directorate of Environmental Protection and Control of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC). His public service experience spans about two decades having started from the Federal Ministry of Works in 2001 as Senior Civil Engineer and later Principal Resident Engineer on a number of road and bridge projects at the FCT, Bayelsa and Rivers States before joining the NDDC in 2006 as Principal Manager, in the Directorate of Project Monitoring and Supervision.

Some of the projects he participated in the design and supervision include Kubwa satellite township roads, Tombia Bridge across River Nun, East/West Road Dualization, Section II (Eleme Junction to Kaima). Others involve scores of electricity, water, building and road projects in many communities across the Niger Delta Region.

Looking through some of completed projects supervised by Engr. O. C. Obeka one which stands him out from his peers in NDDC is the multi-billion Naira 25.45km, Ogbia-Nembe Road with seven bridges, 53Nos. culverts across the mangrove swamps linking 14Nos. riverine communities in Ogbia and Nembe LGA’s of Bayelsa State. He is a member of the Client’s Project Management Team supervising the record breaking multi billion naira cathedral building project of Salvation Ministries International, Igwuruta-Port Harcourt.

He is a COREN certified Engineer and belongs to many professional bodies among which are: The Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE), Nigeria Institution of Civil Engineers (NICE), Nigeria Institution of Highway and Transportation Engineers (NIHTE), American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), Project Management Institute, USA (PMI). He is also active within the NSE Port Harcourt Branch where he has served and still serving in many capacities including executive committee level.

A seasoned professional and ardent scholar, he has written and presented several technical papers at both local and international fora. He strongly upholds the principles of Professional Ethics and Total Quality Management (TQM). He also has attended many other professional and leadership courses home and abroad. He is a devout Christian and a Field Representative of the FGBMFI-Nigeria. Happily married to Pamella Uche and their marriage is blessed with three children.

Other elected Members of the new Executive committee are:

  1. Chairman- Engr. Onuoha Obeka
  2. Vice Chairman- Engr. T. J. Isokariari
  3. Secretary- Engr. Muhammed Adedio
  4. Assistant Sec.- Engr. Osadolo Etinosa
  5. Technical Secretary- Engr. Felix Nwankwo
  6. Assistant Tech. Sec. Engr. Sunny Ojo
  7. Treasurer- Engr. Duabo L. Benibo
  8. Membership Sec. Engr. Richard Umole
  9. Auditor- Engr. Gilbert A. Orji
  10. Financial Secretary- Engr. Belema Ekine
  11. Welfare Secretary.- Mina K. Abia
  12. Publicity Secretary. Eghovie Fieva
  13. Immediate Past Chairman. – Engr. Stanley Idem

Congratulations NICE Civil Engineers on the new.

I am isqil Najim

Port Harcourt Civil Engineers Elect Engr Onuoha Obeka as New Chairman
Group Picture after the election


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here