NUC approves Technical University, Ibadan’s academic programmes

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has approved 14 programmes at the Technical University (Tech-U) in Ibadan, Oyo State capital.

A statement by the Media Office said the approved courses would be run in the seven departments and two faculties of the institution.

The two faculties are: Faculties of Natural Sciences and Engineering and Technology.

The approved courses with full accreditation are: Microbiology, Industrial Chemistry, Physics with Electronics, Software Engineering, Computer Science, Cyber Security, Mathematics and Statistics.

Others are: Agricultural Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Food Science and Technology, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering as well as Petroleum Engineering.

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ayobami Salami, hailed the approval.

He said the university would ensure that higher education lives up to its highest potential to ennoble the human spirit and advance human society.

Salami said: “As a technical university, we have an abiding obligation to efficiently and responsibly use theoretical and practical knowledge of science, technology and engineering in engaging societal problems while maintaining a culture of entrepreneurship anchored on quality programmes that are responsive and financially suitable and sustainable.

“It is in that connection that we provide entrepreneurial and vocational training to students.”

The vice chancellor said students would be trained in two vocational programmes for certification before graduation.

The students, he said, would also be required to sign in for French language and undergo immersion as a prerequisite for graduation.

Besides, they are to learn one other Nigerian language, besides their mother tongue.

Source: The Nation


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here