Anambra State Honours NSE President, Engr Otis Anyaeji at Anambra @ 25



Anambra State Honours NSE President, Engr Otis Anyaeji at Anambra @ 25
Anambra State Governor, Willie Obiano has honoured the Nigerian Society of Engineers President, Engr Otis Anyaeji for his distinguished services, contribution to strategic development, and progress of the state. This was at the event marking the anniversary of the States 25 years anniversary.
Old Anambra State was created in 1976 from part of East Central State, and its capital was Enugu. A further re-organisation in 1991 divided Anambra into two states, Anambra and Enugu. The capital of Anambra is Awka.
He joined other 300 distinguished personalities from the states which include the first President of Nigeria, Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, first Nigerian millionaire, Sir Lois Odumegwu Ojukwu, his son, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu, as well as Blessed Iwene Tansi, Francis Cardinal Arinze, Professor Chinua Achebe and Oaluda Equano. 
Others are, Blessed Iwene Tansi, Francis Cardinal Arinze and Olauda Equino, Dr Alex Ekwueme, former secretary of the Commonwealth, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, former Senate presidents of Nigeria, namely Dr Nwafor Orizu and Dr Chuba Okadigbo, Louis Mbanefo, Former President of Nigeria, Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida was rewarded in the lifetime category of the ward for creating the state in 1991. Others who benefited in this category were Late Dr Akpabi Asika (former administrator of defunct East Central State), Commodore Joseph Abulu (first military administrator of the state), Chief Chukwuemeka Ezeife (first civilian governor of the state), Col Mike Attah, Garba Rufai, Commander Emmanuel Ukaegbu, Dr Chinwoke Mbadinuju, Senator Chris Ngige, Dame Virgy Etiaba and Mr. Peter Obi, who were all former governors. Other awardees were former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Chief Agunwa Anaekwe, Obi of Onitsha, Igwe Alfred Achebe, Speaker of the Anambra State House of Assembly, Chief Innocent Chukwuma (INNOSON Motors), Chief Pete Edochie, Emmanuel Okala, John Mikel Obi, among many others.
The awards, which were in 10 categories, were presented by the state governor at an impressive ceremony that attracted guests from within and outside Nigeria. The categories were pillars of our heritage, light bearers, lifetime achievement, philanthropists extraordinaire and business titans, ambassadors of excellence and outstanding public service. Others were lifetime achievement, ICONS of Education, ICONS of tradition and service to humanity and evergreen (posthumous award) 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here