A Student of Obafemi Awolowo university, Mr. Lawal Oluwaseun Richard has emerged as the the 7th National President of the Student Wing of Nigerian Institution of Mechanical Engineers, NIMechE during the National Conference and Annual General Meeting in Kano. He is taking over from the Hard working Aalo Emmanuel from Rivers State University, under whom the body in conjunction with the National Body organised some breathtaking programmes for the Students across the country, one of which was the first International Mechanical Engineering BootCamp organised under the NIC 2.0 project sponsored by Royal Academy of Engineering and Engineers against Poverty.

The Full list of the New Executive Members of NIMechE NSF 18/2019 are

  1. LAWAL Oluwaseun Richard -President { Obafemi Awolowo University}
  3. EWOH Uzoma –  General Secretary {Rivers State University.}
  4. Popoola Sherif Abidemi.-  Assist. General Secretary {Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomosho.}Bulus Emmanuel Zaki –  Financial secretary { Federal Polytechnic Bauchi.}
  5. Mahmud Tijani –  Membership Secretary {The Polytechnic Ibadan.}
  6. Dau Aminu Bello – Technical secretary {Kano Univeristy of Science and Technology, KANO.}Odung Uduakabasi.- Treasurer {University of Uyo.}
  7. Ossai hillary C.- Welfare director {IMT,Enugu.}

Mr. Richard, a 400 level student of Mechanical Engineering at Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife, Osun state served the NIMechE-NSF outgoing National Executive as  General Secretar and  also  a one time member of the Students Representative Council (SRC), General Secretary NIMechE OAU,  among others.

His vision for NIMechE-NSF is to build an institution that will will bring out the innovation in Nigeria engineering students and give them a means to build professionalism and various skills.

He believes that the essence of every human being on earth is to leave this world a better place than he met it. This has been the driving force that has led me to serve in many capacity including General Secretary of NIMechE both for OAU chapter and National Students forum. Lawal also  engage in audio editor and sound producing as hobby.

At his unveiling, he thanked the fellow students from across the country for giving him the mandate to serve. He noted his election is an opportunity be lead the students to get a feel of what its like to be a professional when still school.

He solicits the support of the Students across the tertiary institutions and promises to work toward greater unity among Nigerian Mechanical Engineering students nationwide. He also revealed his administration plan toward creating platforms where students will increase their innovation skills and building bridges across our various engineering campuses.

… Brief Background of NIMechE-NSF

The body known as ‘NIMechE National Students Forum’ and abbreviated as NIMechE-NSF was founded by the Nigerian Institution of Mechanical Engineers, NIMechE under the leadership of Engr Ayo Fanimokun to give sense of belonging to Student members and encourage their professional ascension from tertiary institution to industry.

On the 23rd of October,2011 at the 24th National Conference and AGM in Lagos, during an industrial excursion to the Nigeria Railway Corporation, Student representatives from 7 institutions (UNILORIN, OAU, OOU, FUTA, COVENANT, IMT, ESUST) sat in silence to savour the ride on the train when Mr. Abdulsalam Okubadejo, OAU and Adebola Osatuyi, both from OAU, initiated the idea of having unified National Student Body (Mechanical)  coordinated by  NIMechE with focus on welfare and development of Student Members and presence in all institutions offering mechanical Engineering in the country. In the train, a committee was constituted to achieve this aim, they met with the then National Chairman-elect, Engr. Ayo Fanimokun, who incidentally was also muting the idea as part of his young engineers development agenda.

At the 25th National Conference and AGM of NIMechE  in Enugu on the 21st of October, 2012, student representatives from 8 institutions (ATBU, KADPOLY, OAU, ESUST, IMT, UNIZIK, ABU, FUTO) met to review the draft code sand constitute a follow-up committee led by Ibrahim Balogun, ATBU which gave birth to the National Student Forum on the 21st of February, 2013 at Yaba College of Technology, Lagos where the student representatives from 10 institutions (YABATECH, UI, OAU, UNILAG, FUTMINNA, ATBU, OOU, KADPOLY, LAUTECH and OSCOTECH) across the federation reviewed the MOU with the national council, afterwards the election and swearing-in of the premier executives.

Past Presidents of NIMechE-NSF Since Inception:

  1. IBRAHIM O. BALOGUN, 2012/2013 (Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, ATBU BAUCHI)
  3. OLUWASEGUN ADESANYA, 2014/2015 (Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, LAUTECH Ogomosho
  4. ODIAGA SAMSON, 2015/2016 Federal University of Technology, FUT MINNA, Niger State
  5. KASEEM LAWAL, 2016/2017, Kaduna Polytechnics KADPOLY Kaduna
  7. LAWAL RICHARD OLUWASEGUN, 2018/2019, Obafemi Awolowo University OAU Ile-Ife Osun State

A section of Students with National Chairman Engr Dr Robinson Ejilah
New Executive Member NIMechE NSF
National Chairman Dr Robinson Ejilah. and past national chairman Prof Ademola Adisa bello flanked by Past NSF Presidents Issamot Kazeem, Outgoung President aalo Emmanuel and incoming Lawl Richard Oluwaseun


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here